Ginrich's Devotional Blog

June 5, 2014

Passing On

Filed under: Bible,Christ,devotion,God,Jesus — by ginrich @ 1:00 am

I Thessalonians 5:27 I put you under oath before the Lord to have this letter read to all the brothers.

As I read my dad’s letters so carefully preserved by his mother, I think about the letters in the New Testament. As my dad had no idea when he wrote the letters they would be preserved and compiled in a book for future generations, I think the writers of the letters in our New Testament didn’t realize the impact on generations their letters would have. Not only are we blessed and do we learn from their letters, we also can see that following the Holy Spirit in obedience has no ending to the blessings. It reminds me of a large print Bible I left on a door step. I barely knew the people but knew the man had major vision problems. I signed the Bible, “with love from Jesus” and left it on their doorstep. There was no way they could know I was involved. Several years later I heard the man testify on the radio about the Bible and how it led him to Christ and how he opened a Christian book store. A few months later his wife appeared at my door and said she thought I might have left that Bible and wanted me to know it was passed to 5 other couples who each accepted Christ. After that they lost track of it. Our job is not to understand why God’s Holy Spirits leads us to do something but just to do it and leave the results to God. I thank the letter writers of the New Testament for their obedience and those who carefully preserved and passed down their letters.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

