Ginrich's Devotional Blog

December 15, 2014

Harmony

Filed under: Bible,Christ,devotion,God,Jesus — by ginrich @ 1:00 am

Philippians 2:3 Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.

In elementary school I began music by playing the violin. I was the second seat violin not the first. Basically I was second fiddle. I was not happy with that. I wanted the first chair. I wanted to be the star. I wanted to be known as the best player. Scripture tells us we are to be willing to be second fiddle. That doesn’t mean we aren’t just as good as others but we are to consider others as being better. We are to allow them to shine while we support and encourage. As I grew I learned to put my selfishness away. I did become first chair on the cello but my attitude about it had changed. In an orchestra you are no better than the worst player. It takes the entire group to make music. In God’s army we are to be united for the glory of God. God is the only “first player.” The second fiddle is important because it harmonizes with the first fiddle. Collectively we are to harmonize together with each other and God so collectively we bring glory to God.

Blog at WordPress.com.

