Ginrich's Devotional Blog

January 28, 2015

Continual In-fillling

Filed under: Bible,Christ,devotion,God,Jesus — by ginrich @ 1:00 am

5 he saved us not by works of righteousness that we have done but on the basis of his mercy, through the washing of the new birth and the renewing of the Holy Spirit, 6 whom he poured out on us in full measure through Jesus Christ our Savior.
Titus 3:5-6 (NET)

Being filled with God’s Holy Spirit isn’t a onetime event. He does first enter us when we first accept and receive Jesus into our hearts, minds and lives but we need more than that. Because of our sinful nature and the carnal world we live in, we must be continually filled with God’s Holy Spirit. Before I preach, before I pray, before I minister to another’s needs, before I read and/or study the Holy Bible, before I write I always ask for a fresh in-filling of the Holy Spirit. Without the Holy Spirit to lead and guide me I can’t receive anything from God for in and of myself I lack in understanding. I’ve developed the habit of asking for refilling the moment I wake up in the morning and throughout the day as various tasks change. Let’s learn to be continually filling with the Holy Spirit.

Blog at WordPress.com.

