Ginrich's Devotional Blog

September 23, 2015

Noah’s Story

Filed under: Uncategorized — by ginrich @ 3:21 pm

Hi. My name is Noah and I would like to share my story with you. I lived on this earth a long time after Adam and Eve were first created and a long, long time before God sent His Son, Jesus to live on this earth. Adam and Eve were very careful to pass on to their children how very important it is to obey and serve the God of all creation. I did that very carefully. One day, as I was going about my daily chores, I head God speak to me within my heart and head. He called me by name and said, “Noah, I want you to build an ark?” I asked, “An ark, Lord? What is an ark.”
God said an ark is a boat and though I didn’t live anywhere near water He was going to cause it to rain from the heavens and water to come up from the earth until the entire earth was under water. He was going to do this because the people on the earth had forgotten Him and were being very sinful. He said only my family ( I have 3 sons and their wives) and enough of all the animals, birds and insects along with seeds of all vegetation would be saved to repopulate the earth after it was washed of all the terrible sin.
God gave me all the instructions for the ark even what types of wood to use. I talked this over with my wife and children and we set about building this ark. All the who lived around us thought we were crazy and made fun of us. It was hard to hear their jokes and harsh words about us but we knew it was best to obey God rather than give in to what others were saying.
It took quite some time to finish the ark. When it was finished I asked God how I was to get the animals and seeds and food onto the ark. He said He would send the animals but I was to gather the seeds and the food. This also took some time but, with the power of God, all was finally done.
God told me it was time for my family to get into the ark. After we got in, God, Himself, closed the door and I locked it from the inside. We could hear the people outside laughing and jeering at us. After a while we heard rain drops on our roof. We could hear the people outside laughing and enjoying playing in the rain. As it continued to rain and got harder and harder the laughing turned to screams and banging on the ark wanting in. We could not let them in. It took a while but eventually we heard nothing but rain. Then a new sensation; we felt the ark move. We had never experienced floating on the water. It was pretty rough for a while, actually for 40 days. Then the rain stopped and the ride in the ark was smooth. We had a lot of chores to do all the while in the ark taking care of the animals and cleaning up after them.
We had a little window I opened after the rain stopped. Through it came the sun light and fresh air. We needed the fresh air with all those animals. From week to week I would send a raven out to see if it would find a place to nest. Ravens can fly a good distance. It took several weeks before the raven didn’t return. When the raven didn’t return I sent out a dove. This also took several weeks before the dove returned with an olive leaf in its beak. Then I knew there was dry land.
I opened the door and let the animals out. It was so good to feel dry land under our feet again. God said He would never flood the entire earth again and put a beautiful rainbow in the sky as a symbol of His promise. Then He told me to get to work, taking care of the earth, building an altar for sacrifices of obedience and needing His forgiveness. He said to be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth with people.
We did this but gradually people forgot about God again and went on with their own lives any way they wanted without regard for God or for other people. It took a long time but eventually God’s Word became flesh as Jesus and lived on this earth for 33 year showing us how to live and teaching us about God and what He expected from us.
What can you learn from my story? God is in control. We are to love and serve and obey Him in all things. God will protect those who love and obey Him. God will take care of the evil in this world.
Today you have an advantage I didn’t have. Jesus, God’s Son, came and brought God’s teachings with Him and they are recorded in the Holy Bible. You can read it and learn how God wants you to live. You can allow Jesus into your heart, mind and life and have His Holy Spirit in you to guide you throughout each of your days. All you need to do is invite Jesus into your heart and tell Him you want to love, serve and follow Him. What a wonderful gift God has given you.

Read Genesis 8 and 9

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

