Ginrich's Devotional Blog

October 27, 2016

Scriptures

Filed under: Uncategorized — by ginrich @ 4:38 pm

Luke 24:45 45 Then he opened their minds so they could understand the Scriptures.

After several decades of meditating and studying the scriptures I needed a fresh outlook.  One time I rewrote the book of John making it written to me personally putting in the appropriate pronouns or my name as fit the sentences.  I made it really come alive.  Now I am in the process of rewriting the book of Psalms, making those prayers personal prayers from me to God.  Sometimes I must change more than pronouns to make them my prayers.  I’ve even been able to include the elections in this country in some of the psalms and many personal subjects.  Below is an example.  I apologize for the formatting.  The first is my personal version and the second is from NIV translation.   I encourage you to give it a try, but in your own way.

Psalm 3

Lord, how many are the foes of this nation

Even many in this nation are against Your children

Many are saying

Christians cannot pray or say the name of God or Jesus in public

You are a shield around us

You lift our heads high

We call out to You, Lord

Answer us from Your holy mountain.

We lie down and sleep

When we wake, You sustain us.

We will not fear though our nation appears against us.

And assails our very freedom

Arise Lord

Deliver us from our enemies

Strike them in their mouths

Break their bit against our freedom

From You comes deliverance

May Your blessing be on us, Your children

 

Psalms 3 (NIV)

Lord, how many are my foes! How many rise up against me! 2 Many are saying of me, “God will not deliver him.”

3 But you, Lord, are a shield around me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high. 4 I call out to the Lord, and he answers me from his holy mountain.

5 I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the Lord sustains me. 6 I will not fear though tens of thousands assail me on every side.

7 Arise, Lord! Deliver me, my God! Strike all my enemies on the jaw; break the teeth of the wicked.

8 From the Lord comes deliverance. May your blessing be on your people.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

