Ginrich's Devotional Blog

November 25, 2016

Black Friday

Filed under: Bible,Christ,Christian,devotion,faith,God,God's Word,Holy Spirit,Jesus,prayer — by ginrich @ 6:29 am

Matthew 6:20 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. Matthew 6:20 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. (NIV)

Today is called “Black Friday.”  I believe that is correctly named.  It is a day we are encouraged to buy “treasures” on this earth that we don’t necessarily need and that might put us in debt.  Some people wait for hours to buy their “treasures.”  Some people actually get into fights over “treasures.”   We listen to our sinful nature saying, “I want, I need, It’s mine. Etc.”  Black is a color representing mourning.  I guess we are to mourn the loss of our hard-earned money being replaced by “treasures” that will break, wear out and maybe even stolen.  The “Black Friday” I’m most familiar with celebrating is three days before Easter.  It is the day Jesus died a horrible death on a Roman cross and put into a borrowed grave.  He did this just for me and you to restore our relationship with God and rebirth us into the way God originally created us.  On that “Black Friday” I mourn my sinful nature and that God had to go to such an extreme as to send His only Son to this earth of sinful people to die for us and take on our sins.  It’s strange that Thanksgiving day precedes “Black Friday.”  I think it should be reversed because I am so very thankful for God’s grace and willingness to sacrifice His Son for me.  I like to quickly turn my mourning in to joy of the resurrection of God’s Son and my rebirth. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

