Ginrich's Devotional Blog

December 20, 2016

The Manger

Filed under: Advent,Bible,Christ,Christian,Christmas,devotion,faith,God,God's Word,Jesus — by ginrich @ 1:08 am

 A manger is a wooden trough used to hold food for animals.  The baby Jesus was put in a manger that had hay in it.  In scripture we read, (John 6:35 NIV)35 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.”  Our bread of life was laid in a manger.  Several years ago I wrote a song with the following words.

When I walked into the barn

Early one cold morn,

My eyes fell on the manger bed

Looking old and worn

Then I heard You softly say,

“Twas in a place like this,

snuggled in some old dry hay

I first laid to rest.”

 

As my Savior grew to serve

He wandered all around.

Never did He have a place

He could call His own.

When He died upon the cross

On that dismal day

They laid Him in a borrowed tomb

To wait for that third day.

 

Now that You have conquered death

Make Your home in me

Fill me with your warmth and peace,

Free Your love through me.

Keep my mind full of Your thoughts

Set my spirit free

To be united with Your own

Then One we’ll ever be.

As we continue to celebrate the coming of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, let us remember He is the very bread of life and we are to eat and digest His words making them part of our being.

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

