Ginrich's Devotional Blog

December 28, 2016

Quoting Scripture

Filed under: Bible,Christ,Christian,devotion,faith,God,God's Word,Holy Spirit,Jesus — by ginrich @ 1:29 am

Matthew 4:4 4 Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God (NIV)

 Every time Jesus was faced with a temptation He quoted Scripture from the Holy Bible.  In His time it was from the Old Testament.  Now we have both the Old and the New Testaments to quote.  God’s word is stronger than any temptation.  This is why it is so important for us not only to read the Bible and study and meditate on it.  We also need to memorize scripture to be armed and ready when temptation suddenly appears.  There is scripture for every temptation that can every come.  It is up to us to be familiar enough with the written word that the Holy Spirit will be able to bring the right scripture which we’ve already learned up to our conscious mind.  I print out single verses and put them on my refrigerator door.  I read them every time I go to the refrigerator.  I must admit it now takes me longer than it use to memorize the verses.  Most of my memory verses are set to music so when I quote them I tend to speak them in the rhythm I use to sing them.  The method of memorizing isn’t important.  What is important is that we commit them to memory.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

