Ginrich's Devotional Blog

January 23, 2017

Ememies

Matthew 5:43-47 43 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ 44 But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45 that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. 46 If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? 47 And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? (NIV)

 I spent several months visiting most all the churches in my area.  I was looking to see what God was being allowed to do and not allowed to do in the various churches.  I found out a lot.  The big churches had their official greeters so I was greeted at the door.  Yet, even when the congregation was asked to shake the hand of those around them I found backs turned to me as they were shaking and talking to their friends.  The little churches had no official greater and, sad to say, a majority of them had no interest in welcoming a stranger except for the minister.  There was one church, a small church where I was the only one of my race.  Every person in that church came and welcomed me before the service than every person spoke to me and invited me back after the service.  I’m sure none of the churches considered me to be an enemy.  If they had a hard time welcoming a stranger coming into their church on a Sunday for the worship service, how would they obey the above verses.  The word love in these verses comes from the word “agape.”  This is not an emotional love but a love that wants God’s best for others.  But we are God’s hands, feet and mouth on this earth and it is up to us to communicate God’s love to ALL we meet.  Their race, gender, age, social status, profession or even religion doesn’t change our responsibility.  God’s desire is for all mankind to know and accept His love.  We must ask ourselves if we are being a good channel for His love.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.