Ginrich's Devotional Blog

February 24, 2017

Sleeping or Awake

Filed under: Bible,Christ,Christian,devotion,faith,God,God's Word,Holy Spirit,Jesus,prayer — by ginrich @ 11:25 pm

Matthew 9:24 24 he said, “Go away. The girl is not dead but asleep.” But they laughed at him. (NIV)

 There are different types of death.  Yes, there is a physical death.  There is also an emotional and a spiritual death.  Though I was raised in a church, worked in a church and claimed to be a Christian, I was spiritually dead.  I didn’t understand the difference between believing Jesus is the Son of God (Satan knows that.) and believing IN Jesus, the Son of God, as my Savior and my Lord.  The day I realized that (another story too long for this) I felt Jesus touch me.  It only takes one touch from Him to heal and bring someone back to life.  My emotions were healed and my spirit was brought back from the death to life.  To me, this is more important than my physical death because, as a child of God through His Son, Jesus, my body will die but I will live in His very real presence for all eternity.  So many people are spiritually dead.  So many people in churches who call themselves Christians are spiritually asleep.  We must ask ourselves if we’ve allowed Jesus to touch us and if we are fully awake. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

