Ginrich's Devotional Blog

April 12, 2017

Under Authority

Filed under: Bible,Christ,Christian,devotion,faith,God,God's Word,Holy Spirit,Jesus,Lent,prayer — by ginrich @ 9:46 pm

Matthew 21:24 24 Jesus replied, “I will also ask you one question. If you answer me, I will tell you by what authority I am doing these things. (NIV)

 The religious leaders were jealous and felt threatened by Jesus.  They wanted to discredit His teaching but had nothing to discredit.  You can’t discredit what you know is truth.  This is why they were not able to say anything when Jesus asked them about John the Baptist.  They knew the truth but preferred to live under their own lies and dreams of self-importance and power over others.  We, as believers, have the Holy Spirit indwelling in us.  This gives us the authority to speak God’s word.  But we must be cautious and be sure our hearts are right.  We don’t speak to be honored by men.  We don’t speak to have people acclaim us.  We speak out of love of God and a desire to serve Him, obey Him and make disciples for Him.  Every time I preach I spend time trembling in prayer.  I know I have nothing of my own to say worth anybody listening.  But I also know I’ve given myself to be a vessel for God to pass His love to others that they may know, love and serve Him.  This is for all believers.  Be it preaching before thousands or talking to a neighbor or friend in need, it is all the same.  We are under the authority of God and through Jesus we have His authority to speak and make disciples.  We must ask ourselves if we are obeying Him out of love and obedience.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

