Ginrich's Devotional Blog

July 12, 2017

Mercy

Filed under: Bible,Christ,Christian,devotion,faith,God,God's Word,Holy Spirit,Jesus,prayer — by ginrich @ 7:50 am

Hosea 6:6 6 For I desire mercy, not sacrifice, and acknowledgment of God rather than burnt offerings. (NIV)

 Praise God that He shows me mercy.  He forgives me every time I sin or miss His bidding.  But forgiveing me is not the same as me walking out the consequences of my action or inaction.  I walk out those consequences in a state of forgiveness.  But do we show the same mercy to others.  Something as simple of driving.  Road rage is rampant.  People don’t show mercy to other drivers.  The attitude is “You’re not getting in front of me.  I’ll cut you off if you try.”  What about mercy to the sales clerk who isn’t very helpful?  We don’t know what’s behind their action.  We are to show the same mercy to others that God shows to us.  Our problem is pride.  We don’t like humbling ourselves.  We want to be the one “in the right” and be sure everyone knows it.  Let us practice showing the same mercy to other God shows to us.  Remember, showing mercy isn’t preventing others for walking out the circumstances of their action or inaction, just as God has us go through our consequences.  Let us all walk bathed in the mercy of God and each other.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

