Ginrich's Devotional Blog

July 22, 2017

Faith and Obedience

Filed under: Bible,Christ,Christian,devotion,faith,God,God's Word,Holy Spirit,Jesus,prayer — by ginrich @ 7:48 pm

Matthew 17:20 20 He replied, “Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” (NIV)

 I was in my kitchen on my knees scrubbing the floor when I heard God whisper to me, “Go to the hospital and pray for…”  Then I heard Him say the name of my husband’s boss.  She was in the hospital just having had a baby. While she was in labor they discovered a large mole on her leg and biopsied it.  I was melanoma.  She was scheduled to have it removed the next day.  Her husband was not only not a Christian, he was very much antichristian and gave my husband a hard time at work.  I called my husband and shared what I heard God tell me.  He said, if God said it I better do it.  I changed my clothes and went to the hospital thinking her husband would be a work.  When I got to her room, her husband was there.  We did small talk for a while (I thought he would leave at any minute for work) and I finally realized her husband was not going to leave.  I finally said, “Would you mind if I held your hand and prayed for you?”  She was very polite (her husband laughed) and said that was fine.  I held her hand and said, “Father God, in the name of Your Son, Jesus I speak healing.  No cancer cells can be present in this body.”  I said Amen and good bye and left.  I was obedient to what God told me to do. The result was up to Him.  The next morning when they took her down for surgery the looked at the mole and decided they better biopsy it again.  There were no cancer cells.  We heard nothing about it.  A few months later her husband was fired.  Several years later my phone rang.  It was this lady.  She said, “Ginger, I’m not sure if you remember me (I said I did) but I want you to know as a result of your prayer, not only was I healed, my husband and I received Jesus as our Lord and Savior and we are in full time ministry.”

 I share this to demonstrate faith and obedience are one and the same.  We can’t have faith without being obedient and we won’t be obedient if we don’t have faith.  When we hear God telling us to do something we don’t need to weight the pros and cons or our abilities, we only need to be obedient to His word and act on what He says to do.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

