Ginrich's Devotional Blog

August 3, 2017

Listening and Knowing

Filed under: Bible,Christ,Christian,devotion,faith,God,God's Word,Holy Spirit,Jesus,prayer — by ginrich @ 3:32 pm

John 10:27 27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. (NIV)

 I was very nervous when I first brought my first baby home.  I was afraid to sleep because I thought I might not hear the baby when she cried.  Gradually I learned my ears were always listening for my baby.  I knew her cry so distinctly I could pick her cry out of the church nursery full of crying babies.  As she grew older and more children arrived and grew, they didn’t need to identify themselves on the phone.  I knew by their distinctive voices who was talking with me.  The same is true in listening and hearing the voice of God within us.  As we learn how His voice sounds to us, as we train ourselves to continually listening for His voice, we learn to identify it.  We learn through comparing the voice we hear with the words recorded in the Holy Bible, the written Word of God.  Eventually we find, with practice in listening and following what the voice says, we can hear Him speaking to us through and in all situations.  I recognize my children’s individual voice regardless of what I’m doing when they speak.  Let us be sure to develop the same ability with the One Who knows and loves us best.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.